Saunders Research Building, University of Rochester, Rochester, NY

What is the CLIC?

The Center for Leading Innovation and Collaboration (CLIC), housed at the University of Rochester, is the coordinating center for the Clinical and Translational Science Awards Program (CTSA Program), which supports a network of more than 50 of the nation’s top biomedical research institutions. 

The purpose of the CLIC is to serve the CTSA Program through coordination, transparent communication, actionable metrics, network analytics and innovative collaboration tools for use around the network, and to make the work and accomplishments of the CTSA Program vibrantly visible to all stakeholders.

The CLIC provides:

  • Data coordination services to collect, analyze and transform CTSA Program data into actionable insights that accelerate patient impacts.
  • A dynamic ecosystem that supports collaboration and team science across the CTSA Program community.
  • Communications to support internal CTSA Program activities and to make the progress and impact of translational science visible to internal and external stakeholders.

CLIC has assumed the role of Tufts University to implement the Common Metrics Initiative and builds upon the foundation laid by Vanderbilt University’s CTSA Consortium Coordinating Center (C4). CLIC strives to support the goals of the CTSA Program and to be a central resource for researchers across the network of hubs. 


What is the CTSA Program?

The purpose of the CTSA Program is to get medical and population health interventions to patients and populations more quickly, and to enable research teams, including scientists, patient advocacy organizations and community members, to tackle system-wide scientific and operational problems in clinical and translational research that no one team can overcome in isolation.

Program Goals:

  • Train and cultivate the translational science workforce.
  • Engage patients and communities in every phase of the translational process.
  • Promote the integration of special and underserved populations in translational research across the human lifespan.
  • Innovate processes to increase the quality and efficiency of translational research, particularly of multisite trials.
  • Advance the use of cutting-edge informatics.

What is a CTSA Program hub?

A CTSA Program hub is defined as a UL1 award with a linked KL2 award and an optional TL1 award. In any particular fiscal year, if NCATS granted a no-cost extension (NCE) to an existing CTSA Program hub award, the Center would not count that NCE-status site as a funded hub during that fiscal year. Therefore, that NCE-status site would not be reflected in the table.

Currently, more than 50 medical research institutions across the nation receive CTSA Program funding, and these hubs work together to speed the translation of research discovery into improved patient care. 


What is Translational Science?

  • Translation is the process of turning observations in the laboratory, clinic, and community into interventions that improve the health of individuals and the public – from diagnostics and therapeutics to medical procedures and behavioral changes.
  • Translational research is the continuum of research ranging from basic molecular research all the way to clinical trials and the eventual implementation and dissemination of treatments to patients.
  • Translational science is the science that addresses the gaps, needs and barriers along the translational research process; how do researchers advance through the continuum and how can this be done more effectively?

Website content provided in part by the CTSA Consortium Coordinating Center (C4) at Vanderbilt, was supported by Grant Number U54 TR000123 from the National Center for Advancing Translational Science (NCATS) at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

Twitter logoFollow CLIC
Twitter logoFollow NCATS